Orange Cap in IPL [2024]- Who Made Most Runs in Tata IPL 2024

The Orange Cap is one of the most prestigious awards in IPL. This award is only for the batsmen who are playing in the Indian Premier League. This cap is given to the highest run scorer in a particular edition of an IPL.

Orange Cap was first introduced in the 2nd season of the Indian Premier League in 2009. Matthew Hayden, the Australian Batsman became the first recipient of Orange Cap, who scored 572 runs in 12 matches while playing for the Chennai Super Kings. Since then Orange cap become one of the most valuable awards in IPL, with batsmen from all over the world aiming to finish as the highest run scorer.

There are many big names like Chris Gayle, Virat Kohli, and David Warner who won the Orange Cap over the years. David Warner holds the record for the most number of Orange Cap won in IPL. Warner Won Orange Cap 3 times in 2015, 2017, and 2019 while playing for the Sunrisers Hyderabad.

The rules of Orange Cap are simple. The batsman with the highest run scorer is awarded, an Orange Cap. In the case of a tie, the batsman with the highest strike rate is awarded the cap. In this article, we will break the leading run scorer in TATA IPL 2024:

IPL Orange Cap 2024 List

1Virat KohliRCB9824977142.031
2Sam CurranPBKS8624363134.381
3Shivam DubeyCSK8528551166.671
4Rachin RavindraCSK83241.546237.14
5Sanju SamsonRR82182157.691
6Sai SudharsanGT8224145117.14
7Shikhar DhawanPBKS67233.545126.42
8Dinesh KarthikRCB66238183.33
9Andre RussellKKR641642561
10Nicholas PooranLSG64164156.11

IPL Orange Cap 2023 List

Shubman Gill won the orange cap in IPL 2023. He played 17 matches and scored 890 runs with an average of 59.33. He played a sensational innings of 129 runs of 60 balls against Mumbai Indians in the Qualifier 2 match of Tata IPL 2023.

1Shubman GillGT8901759.33129157.834
2Faf du PlessisRCB7301456.1584153.688
3Devon ConwayCSK6721651.6992139.716
4Virat KohliRCB6391453.25101139.8226
5Yashasvi JaiswalRR6251448.08124163.6115
6Suryakumar YadavMI6051643.21103181.1415
7Ruturaj GaikwadCSK5901642.1492147.54
8David WarnerDC5161436.8686131.636
9Rinku SinghKKR4741459.2567149.534
10Ishan KishanMI4541630.2775142.773

IPL Orange Cap 2022 List

Jos Butler won the orange cap in IPL 2022. He made 863 runs in just 17 matches with an average of 57.53. He made runs with a strike rate of 149.05.

1Jos Buttler1786311657.53149.05
2KL Rahul15616103*51.33135.38
3Q de Kock15508140*36.28148.97
4Hardik Pandya1548787*44.27131.26
5Shubman Gill164839634.5132.32
6David Miller1648194*68.71142.72
7F du Plessis164689631.2127.52
8Shikhar Dhawan1446088*38.33122.66
9Sanju Samson174585528.62146.79
10Deepak Hooda154515932.21136.66

IPL Orange Cap 2021 Winner

In 2021, Ruturaj Gaikwad became the first Indian player without previous international experience to win the Orange Cap. He played as an opener for the Chennai Super Kings and scored 635 runs in 16 matches, with a striking rate of 136.27 and an average of 45.36. As a result, CSK also won the title in 2021.

IPL Orange Cap 2020 Winner

In IPL 2020, KL Rahul became the winner of this prestigious Orange Cap. He played as an opener and a captain for the Punjab Kings and scored 670 runs in 14 matches, with a striking rate of 129.34 and an average of 55.83.

List of all IPL Orange Cap Winners

2008Shaun Marsh (KXIP)1161611568.44139.68
2009Matthew Hayden (CSK)125728952144.81
2010Sachin Tendulkar (MI)156188947.53132.61
2011Chris Gayle (RCB)1260810767.55183.13
2012Chris Gayle (RCB)1473312861.08160.74
2013Michael Hussey (CSK)177339552.35129.5
2014Robin Uthappa (KKR)166608344137.78
2015David Warner (SRH)145629143.23156.54
2016Virat Kohli (RCB)1697311381.08152.03
2017David Warner (SRH)1464112658.27141.81
2018Kane Williamson (SRH)177358452.5142.44
2019David Warner (SRH)1269210069.2143.87
2020KL Rahul (KXIP)14670132*55.83129.34
2021Ruturaj Gaikwad16635101*45.35136.26
2022Jos Buttler (RR)1786311657.53149.05
2023Shubman Gill (GT)1789012959.33157.8

Who is the best batsman in IPL 2024?

TATA IPL 2024 is full of the best and highest-quality batsmen from all over the World. So it is difficult to judge the best batsmen in IPL 2024. But still, we will break down the best batsmen playing in IPL 2024.

Rohit Sharma

The year 2023 was a bad year for Rohit Sharma. In this season he made 332 runs in 16 matches with an average of 20.75. He made runs through a strike rate of 132.80 which included two half-centuries. Hope he will come back in IPL 2024.

Jos Buttler

Jos Buttler is the leading run-scorer and winner of Orange Cap in IPL 2022. He hit 4 centuries in the year 2022. He scored 863 runs with a strike rate of 149.05. But the year 2023 was a decent year for him he made 392 runs in 14 matches. But he is a strong contestant for this cap.

Virat Kohli

Virat Kohli is the kind of player, who is always expected to be on top of any stats. He had a wonderful season last year. In IPL 2023, he finished at No. 4 position in the Orange Cap list. He made 639 in 14 innings which includes two centuries and 6 half-centuries.

Shubman Gill

Shubman Gill is the opener batsman of Gujarat Titans. He was the winner of Orange Cap in IPL 2023. In this IPL, he made 890 runs in 17 matches with an average of 59.33. In this season, he made 3 centuries and 4 half-centuries.

Ruturaj Gaikwad

Ruturaj Gaikwad is one of the best openers of IPL playing for CSK. He is the winner of Orange Cap in IPL 2021. He was in good form in the last year. He finished at No. 7 position in the orange cap last of IPL 2023. He made 590 runs in 16 matches.

Top 5 Best Finishers in IPL 2024

  • MS Dhoni
  • Hardik Pandya
  • Andre Russell
  • Liam Livingstone
  • David Miller
  • Rinku Singh

What is Orange Cap Winner Prize Money?

Orange Cap is the most prestigious prize for a batsman playing in IPL. Batters from all over the world aim to win the Orange Cap. A huge amount of INR 15 Lakhs is given to the winner of Orange Cap.

Frequently Asked Questions

Who is the Orange Cap holder in IPL 2024?

Virat Kohli is the winner of Orange Cap in IPL 2024.

Which is the highest scorer in IPL 2023?

Shubman Gill scored 129 runs off 60 balls against Mumbai Indians in the Qualifier 2 match, which is the highest score in IPL 2023.

Who is the first Orange Cap Winner?

Shaun Marsh was the first Orange Cap Winner in 2008. He scored 616 runs in 11 innings.

Who won the most Orange Cap in the IPL?

David Warner holds the record for the most number of Orange Caps in 2015, 2017, and 2019.

Who scored the highest runs in an IPL season?

Virat Kohli is the highest run scorer in an edition of the IPL season. He scored 973 runs in IPL 2016.